Another dinner party!

I just had some swing friends over for dinner today. Jay, Christina, Sue and Debby came over. Surprisingly, they all managed to find my place. Even with a map, that’s impressive. There’s lots of construction, so no easy landmarks. The campus has three gates, the main one was closed (not locked, though it looked it), making it more confusing. They all had to call me at some point. Haha.. and one of the dogs chased Christina, barking after her, but otherwise no difficulties getting to my place. They were all remarkably punctual too. I’d close my phone and it would ring again cause someone else was calling.

Funny thing, no guys came. SeungJin had a birthday party to go to.. I forget whose. Family, I think. Sydney had to work. So it ended up being all girls. There was no dancing exactly (even though Jay and I both lead).. but there was some Steven-Mitchell-Jazz-Routining (Jay wanted to learn it) and some Tranky-Doo-ing.

Menu (Of the seemingly fancy, but all very easy variety):

Homemade bread

Thai spring rolls with peanut dipping sauce

Carrot curry soup topped with roasted pecans

Tomato and boconccini salad

The veggies in miyeok thing that I blogged about last

Pesto pasta with grated cheese

Apple tart

This marks my most organized dinner party ever! I made the bread yesterday and the pie this morning. I made the soup in the afternoon too, so a lot of it was already done. Yay for organization. My aunt Greta will probably be happy that all that she’s said about planning a meal has finally sunk in.

There are no photos because I was too busy eating the stuff. Everything was a hit. However, there are tiny amounts of leftovers of everything except the pasta (which also means I made the perfect amount of food, another lesson of Greta’s that’s finally sunk in!), so I’ll take pics later.

(Edit: now with pictures!)

I’m particularly pleased that I managed to be so organized. I remember my first dinner party, when we were four people with enough food to serve 10, and when we ended up eating later than I thought we would. I think it was back when I was 16 or 17 or so… What a big difference from then!

Tomato & boconccini salad:

Thai spring rolls with peanut dipping sauce:

Carrot curry soup:

It was served with roasted pecans on top:

No leftover veggies in lettuce & miyeok or pesto pasta with grated cheese, sorry.

Apple tart (of which I took pictures before the dinner party started):

Recipes for the soup and the tart after the jump.

The recipe for the soup came from Epicurious. The link is here for the original recipe.

I tweaked it, though, so here’s my modified version. I also doubled(ish) the recipe:

For soup

  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 4 large carrots, sliced thin
  • 2 teaspoons (ish?) ground curry powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt or to taste
  • 3 cups water
  • Pepper
  • A couple of tablespoons or so of white vinegar

I think I added in some other stuff too, but I don’t remember. Basically tweaked it to taste.

For pecans
4 tablespoons pecans, chopped coarse

Make soup:
In a saucepan cook onion in butter over moderate heat, stirring, until softened. Add carrots, curry powder, and salt and cook, stirring, 1 minute. Add water and simmer mixture, covered, 25 minutes, or until carrots are very tender.

Prepare pecans while carrot soup is simmering:
On a baking sheet toast pecans in middle of oven 8 minutes, or until fragrant and 1 shade darker.

In a blender purée soup until smooth, add vinegar and pepper. Tweak recipe until it tastes right.

Divide soup between 5 soup bowls and top with pecans.

The recipe for the pie comes from my aunt Greta. I’m not sure where it came from, but it’s delish!

Darn it, I left my recipe book in the kitchen. I’ll find it and post the recipe later.

Here’s the recipe. I used all butter instead of part butter and part shortening just because I didn’t have any shortening. With part shortening you’ll get a flakier crust.


1 3/4 cup all purpose flour

3 tbsp sugar

pinch of salt

1/2 cup butter

1/3 cup shortening

1/3 cup (approx.) ice water

In bowl, combine flour, sugar & salt. Cut in butter and shortening until mixture resembles coarse meal. Gradually add in just enough wter to make dough hold together. Press dough into a ball and flatten into a disc. Wrap in wax paper and refrigerate for 3o minutes (While dough is chilling, peel approx. 4-5 apples and halfve. Core using a melon baller, and slice apples). On lightly floured wax paper, roll out dough to 1/8″ thickness. Fit into a 9″ pie plate. Trim and/or flute edges. Place sliced apples into pie plate. Sprinkle with cinnamon and nutmeg.

Combine in a bowl and pour over fruit:

2 slightly beaten eggs

1/2 cup sugar

2 tbsp melted butter

1 cup cream

Place pie on a cookie sheet. Bake about 40 mins in a preheated oven at 375F/190C, until apples are nicely browned and crust is golden on sides.

Cool, then serve.

Because I am all about multitasking, we have here both a dessert for my dinner party AND an entry to an online food blogging event!

Waiter, there’s something in my…

This month, the theme is topless tarts. You can find more info here.

Speaking of food events, don’t forget to check back on Monday for my post about my first Daring Bakers challenge.!

This will be my second food blogging event (if you don’t count Daring Bakers yet, since it’s not post day yet). My first one was when I entered this in the Happy SorceressFusion-themed blog party. It’s been posted in the round up, even though (I realized this after) I broke the rules a bit by not submitting a fusion-themed drink. And stretched it a bit, cause the food part was supposed to be an appetizer. That’s what you get when I skim posts instead of reading them more carefully. Stupid, stupid…

Check out the other entries!

One response to “Another dinner party!

  1. Pingback: WTSIM #11 - more topless tarts than a Paris cabaret! - Cooksister | Food, Travel, Photography

Leave a Reply

